Julien Guillemard

Born on the quays on 15 November 1883 in the heart of the Notre-Dame district, this son of a sailor who worked as a merchant for an importer of coffee, is known above all for his poems, novels and his role as a promoter of art and literature.

The literary review La Mouette (1917 to 1926) which he created, an "idealist review of literature and art", was a forum for expression for young authors and artists. He was a pillar of literary and cultural life in Le Havre during the first half of the XX century and brought together writers, poets, illustrators and young talents. Between 1922 and 1926, together with Henry Woollett, he ran the Salon des poètes normands, whose aim was to "introduce Normandy authors, poets and musicians to the public". Lastly, in 1923 he was responsible for founding the Société des poètes et conteurs de Normandie, which prefigured the Société des écrivains normands.

The manuscripts of Julien Guillemard, who died in 1960, also provide an important insight into Le Havre during the contemporary period. The library possesses his notebooks, kept daily during the two world wars, and the manuscript of his most famous work, l'Enfer du Havre, which describes the Occupation and the bombing raids. His novels, both published and unpublished, and his press articles are also conserved.


Friday 23August 2019

M T W T F S S
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31

Julien Guillemard

Né sur les quais à matelots le 15 novembre 1883, au cœur du quartier Notre-Dame, ce fils de marin, devenu employé de commerce pour une maison d’importation de café est surtout connu pour ses poèmes, ses romans et son action fédératrice au service des belles lettres et des arts.

La revue littéraire La Mouette (1917 à 1926) qu’il a créée, « revue idéaliste de littérature et d’art », est un lieu d’expression pour les jeunes auteurs et artistes. Pilier de la vie littéraire et culturelle du Havre durant la première moitié du XXe siècle, il réunit autour de lui écrivains, poètes, illustrateurs et jeunes talents. Entre 1922 et 1926, il anime avec Henry Woollett, le Salon des poètes normands, pour « faire connaître les auteurs normands poètes et musiciens ». Enfin, il lui revient en 1923 de fonder la Société des poètes et conteurs de Normandie, préfiguration de la Société des écrivains normands.

Les manuscrits de Julien Guillemard, mort en 1960 constituent également un témoignage capital sur le Havre à l'époque contemporaine : la Bibliothèque détient ses carnets de notes, prises au jour le jour pendant les deux conflits mondiaux, ainsi que le manuscrit de son ouvrage le plus célèbre, l'Enfer du Havre, témoignage sur l’Occupation et les bombardements. Ses romans publiés et inédits, ses articles de presse sont également conservés.

Biographie et bibliographie de Julien Guillemard sur le site des éditions L'écho des vagues.
Extraits et analyse de Vers pour mon frère.


  • Geek Academy

    « Envie de surfer, créer ou jouer ?

  • Le temps des jeux

    Classiques (échecs, dames chinoises, Uno...) ou décoiffant (Diamoniak, Coloraddict...), de réflexion, d'imagination ou d'action, tentez votre chanc

Mardi 24Octobre 2017

l m m j v s d
 
 
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31