Othon Friesz et Raoul Dufy

The Othon Friesz collection is composed of correspondence (sent and received), photographs, illustrated documents, printed books and exhibition catalogues. Acquired progressively since 1948 from booksellers, collectors and at public auctions, these documents provide an overview of the painter's career dating back to his first exhibitions in Le Havre and his Fauvist period. The correspondence comprises some 800 letters, sometimes illustrated, which the painter wrote to his family, to the Le Havre collector Léon Pédron, to Noël Dorville and to his artist friends like Georges Braque and Raoul Dufy. The collection was further added to in autumn 2007 for the exhibition Othon Friesz, illustrateur (24 November 2007 - 26 January 2008).

Friesz remained attached to the town of his birth and is present in other collections conserved at the library, including the archives of the journalist and critic Bernard Esdras-Gosse. Lastly, the collection of rare editions of works illustrated by Friesz is regularly being expanded with original illustrated works (drawings, engravings). The new acquisitions are inventoried in the library catalogue (and can be viewed via the useful link at the bottom of this page).

Raoul Dufy is also very present in the library's collections: illustrated books, drawings and correspondence have been regularly acquired in recent years. They complement the artist's works donated in 1963 to the Musée Malraux by his widow.


Tuesday 20August 2019

M T W T F S S
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31

Othon Friesz et Raoul Dufy

Le fonds Othon Friesz réunit un ensemble de correspondances (écrites ou reçues), photographies, documents graphiques, livres imprimés et catalogues d’exposition. Acquis progressivement depuis 1948 auprès de libraires, de collectionneurs ou en ventes publiques, ces documents rendent compte de la carrière du peintre depuis ses premières expositions au Havre et sa période fauve. Les correspondances représentent quelques huit cents lettres, parfois illustrées, écrites par le peintre à sa famille, au collectionneur havrais Léon Pédron, à Noël Dorville et à ses amis artistes comme Georges Braque et Raoul Dufy. Cet ensemble s’est enrichi à nouveau à l’automne 2007 à l’occasion de l’exposition Othon Friesz, illustrateur (24 novembre 2007 - 26 janvier 2008), écho à la rétrospective présentée par le musée Malraux.

Resté attaché à sa ville natale, Friesz est présent dans d’autres fonds conservés à la bibliothèque comme les archives du journaliste et critique Bernard Esdras-Gosse, Enfin, la collection des éditions rares d’ouvrages illustrés par Friesz sont souvent enrichies d’œuvres graphiques originales (dessins, gravures). Les nouvelles acquisitions sont recensées dans le catalogue en ligne de la bibliothèque.

Raoul Dufy est également très présent dans les collections de la bibliothèque : livres illustrés, dessins et correspondances ont régulièrement été acquis ces dernières années. Ils font écho à la collection des œuvres de l’artiste données en 1963 au Musée Malraux (MuMa) par sa veuve.

Raoul Dufy sur le site des Archives municipales du Havre.


  • S'entraîner

    Vous avez une question, un problème en informatique ou juste envie de mettre en pratique ce que vous avez vu lors d’une initiation multimédia ?

  • Surfer sur le net niveau 2

    Cet atelier vous permet de perfectionner vos connaissances en matière de navigation sur Internet, pour surfer en

Dimanche 30Avril 2017

l m m j v s d
 
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30